Plumpton Racecourse
Principal Races


Plumpton Racecourse has three principal races: the Sussex National (typically takes place on the first Sunday in January), Sussex Champion Hurdle (Easter Sunday) and Sussex Champion Chase (Easter Monday). Find out more about each race below. 


The Sussex Champion Hurdle was introduced to the Plumpton race programme in 2013 and has been part of our Easter Sunday card ever since. Run over two miles, this £50,000 Class 2 contest challenges the speed and slick jumping of each horse, and we have seen some impressive winners throughout the years. 

The Evan Williams-trained Court Minstrel won the inaugural contest in 2013 under Paul Moloney, and he went on to land to Grade 2 Scottish Champion Hurdle the following year. Grade 1 winner Diego Du Charmil took the 2021 contest, becoming the third Sussex Champion Hurdle success for the race's winningmost trainer Paul Nicholls, with the others being Tommy Silver (2017) and Dormello Mo (2015). 

2023 renewal saw Teddy Blue win the Sussex Champion Hurdle, trained by Gary Moore and ridden by Jamie Moore.



Year Horse Trainer Jockey
2023 Teddy Blue Garry Moore Jamie Moore
2022 Aucunrisque Chris Gordon Tom Cannon
2021 Diego Du Charmil Paul Nicholls Angus Cheleda 
2020 ABANDONED (Covid)
2019 Fiesole  Olly Murphy David England
2018 Vado Forte Tom Lacey Robert Dunne
2017 Tommy Silver Paul Nicholls Stan Sheppard
2016 Disputed Chris Gordon Tom Cannon
2015 Dormello Mo Paul Nicholls Sam Twiston-Davies
2014 Fergall Seamus Mullins Wayne Kavanagh


2022: Aucunrisque trails Bashful Boy over the last before surging home to win by a nose

2022: Aucunrisque ridden by Tom Cannon wins the Sussex Champion Hurdle


The Sussex Champion Chase is our newest principal race and takes place on Easter Monday each year over a distance of 2m3½f, however it got off to a false start when the inaugural running in 2018 was abandoned due to a waterlogged course. Like the Sussex Champion Hurdle, it £50,000 in prize-money is up for grabs and Mercian Price landed the race's belated debut in 2019 for trainer Amy Murphy and jockey Jack Quinlan. 

After a Covid-forced abandonment in 2020, the Sussex Champion Chase returned in 2021 when Pistol Whipped scored for Nicky Henderson and Nico de Boinville. 

2023 renewal saw Black Gerry win the Sussex Champion Chase, trained by Gary Moore and ridden by Jamie Moore. This was a unique double for both Gary Moore and Jamie Moore, winning the most prestigious races of the season.



Year Horse Trainer  Jockey
2023 Black Gerry
Garry Moore
Jamie Moore
2022 Tamaroc Du Mathan Paul Nicholls Lorcan Williams
2021 Pistol Whipped Nicky Henderson Nico de Boinville
2020 ABANDONED (Covid)
2019 Mercian Prince Amy Murphy Jack Quinlan


2022: Tamaroc Du Mathan jumps the last ahead of Mercian Prince and Mahler's Promise

2022: Tamaroc Du Mathan jumps the last ahead of Mercian Prince and Mahler's Promise


First run in 2001, the Sussex National has become a mainstay on the Plumpton racing programme and one of our biggest contests of the year. With a distance of 3m4½f, it is the joint-longest race on our calendar and provides a proper test of endurance and jumping for the runners, who have to clear 20 fences during the contest.

When first introduced the race was run at the second November meeting of the season and remained there until 2004 before being moved to the New Year the following season. As a result, there was no edition of the race in 2005 and the same can be said for 2009 when the race was abandoned due to frost.

Colin Tizzard is the winningmost trainer of the Sussex National with three successes, the latest being 2020 winner Christmas In April. Horsham-based trainer Gary Moore won the contest in successive years in 2013 (Well Refreshed) and 2014 and other local trainers engraved on the trophy include Linda Jewell (Itold You, 2015), Suzy Smith (Pass Me By, 2007) and Josh Gifford (Mr Markham, 2002).

Chris Gordon won the Sussex National for the first time in 2022 with Go Whatever, who was ridden by Tom Cannon.


Year  Horse Trainer Jockey
2024 Dom Of Mary David Bridgewater Caoilin Quinn
2023 Atakan Joe Tizzard Brendan Powell
2022 Go Whatever Chris Gordon Tom Cannon
2021 Seaston Spirit Oliver Sherwood Aidan Coleman
2020 Christmas In April Colin Tizzard Harry Cobden
2019 The Two Amigos Nicky Martin Matt Griffiths
2018 Vinnie Lewis Harry Whittington Harry Bannister
2017 Morney Wing Charlie Mann Paddy Brennan
2016 Tour Des Champs Nigel Twiston-Davies Sam Twiston-Davies
2015 Itoldyou Linda Jewell Tom Cannon
2014 Reblis Gary Moore Josh Moore
2013 Well Refreshed Gary Moore Josh Moore
2012 Double Dizzy Bob Buckler Andrew Glassonbury
2011 Minella Boys Charlie Longsdon Felix de Giles
2010 Master Overseer David Pipe Johnny Farrelly
2009 ABANDONED (Frost)
2008 Ironside Colin Tizzard Dave Crosse
2007 Pass Me By Suzy Smith Paul C O'Neill
2006 Dunbrody Millar Peter Bowen Tom Malone
2005 NO RACE (Due to date change)
2004 French Executive Paul Nicholls Paddy Brennan
2003 Jeremy Spider Colin Tizzard Seamus Durack
2002 Mr Markham Josh Gifford Phillip Hide
2001 Sad Mad Bad Mary Reveley  Alan Dempsey


Sussex National

2022: Go Whatever (red and white silks) en route to victory in the 2022 Sussex National

Sussex National

2019: The Two Amigos jumps the last clear of second-placed Calin Du Brizais